FILM’S NOT DEAD: KODAK Ia WITH PORTA 160

Not too long ago my sister bought me a Kodak Ia at a flee market held at her school. For weeks it sat on my computer desk because I honestly had no idea how to use it. After doing a bit of research and watching a few videos I still wasn’t sure how it functioned. No batteries and none of the mechanisms I was so accustomed to using with SLRs and DSLRs.

Finally, one day I decided to say screw it. I’ll try the hands-on approach and figure this thing out myself. Being new to the whole rangefinder setup and film all together, it took a bit of getting use to. My whole photography game was tested and I enjoyed the challenge. It’s an art, it really is. Understanding all the functions of your camera and making them all work in unison like a beautiful symphony is something truly amazing.

After taking it to the local camera shop to get it processed I learned that the entire roll was double exposed (whoops) I didn’t do that on purpose but I wasn’t surprised. This was due to lack of knowledge on my end. I didn’t keep track of my exposures nor did I know how to properly rewind it. On the other hand the combination of unfamiliarity and age of this 50+ year-old camera made for some pretty cool effects. All in all it was a good experience. You have to learn to crawl before you walk and I can definitely say I know how to crawl pretty fast now.

img097-e1500951274641.jpg

IMG_2374img_2383.jpgIMG_2376IMG_2386IMG_2385IMG_2387

Leave a Reply

